Professor Jürgen Osterhammel

retired since April 2018


Ziegelweg 36, 79100 Freiburg, Germany
Telephone: +49 761/290 72 66

E-Mail: juergen.osterhammel

Heidi Engelmann, Tel. +49 7531 88-5268 (from Monday to Thursday) and
+49 7732 8235492 (only on Fridays from 9:00 to 12:00)


for download

Professional career

Since 2019: Distinguished Fellow at the Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies (FRIAS)

October 1999 to March 2018: Professor (chair) of modern and contemporary history at the University of Konstanz

October 1997 to September 1999: Professeur ordinaire for the history of international relations at the Institut Universitaire de HautesÉtudes Internationales (today: The Graduate Institute Geneva)

October 1990 to September 1997: Professor of Modern History at the FernUniversität  (Open University) Hagen, creation of the newly formed centre for 'Non-Western History'

April 1986 to September 1990: Akademischer Rat (senior lecturer) in Political Science at the University of Freiburg i.Br.

July 1982 to March 1986: Research Fellow at the German Historical Institute London


February 1990: "Habilitation" (second Ph.D.) in modern history at the Albert Ludwig University of Freiburg i.Br.

September 1981: Zweites Staatsexamen: second degree required for the teaching profession in Germany, 'with distinction'

June 1980: PhD in modern history at the University of Kassel, Germany, 'with distinction'

October 1976 to June 1978: Postgraduate studies at the Department of International History, London School of Economics and Political Science

February 1976: Erstes Staatsexamen (equivalent to M.A.): first degree required for the teaching profession in Germany, 'with distinction'

1974 to 1980: Scholarship of the German National Academic Foundation (Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes)

October 1970 to February 1976: Studies: history, political science, German language and literature (Germanistik) and philosophy at the University of Marburg; concurrently training in Mandarin Chinese

June 1970: Abitur (A-Levels). Hohe Landesschule, Hanau a.M. (Germany)

Guest professorships, fellowships

October 2007 to September 2008: Fellow of the Carl Friedrich von Siemens Foundation, Munich

September 2001 to June 2002: Fellow in Residence at the Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study (NIAS), Wassenaar

October 1996 to July 1997: Fellow at the Wissenschaftskolleg, Berlin

Prizes and awards

2019    Großes Bundesverdienstkreuz mit Stern (Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany: Great Cross with Star)

2018    Balzan Prize (International Balzan Prize Foundation)

2018    Honorary Doctorate of the European University Institute (EUI Florence)

2017    Orden Pour le Mérite

2017    Abt Jerusalem Preis of the Braunschweigische Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft

2017    Toynbee Prize of the Toynbee Prize Foundation

2014    Sigmund Freud-Preis für wissenschaftliche Prosa of the Deutsche Akademie für Sprache  und Dichtung (Darmstadt)

2012    Gerda Henkel Forschungspreis of the Gerda Henkel Foundation (Düsseldorf)

2010    Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

2009   NDR-Sachbuchpreis of the Norddeutscher Rundfunk

2001    Anna Krüger Prize of the Wissenschaftskolleg Berlin

1999    Gleim Prize for Literature of the city of Halberstadt

1990    Nachwuchspreis (Prize for exceptional achievements of young scholars) of the Association of German Historians

Election as a member of academic associations

2015    Accademia delle scienze di Torino

2014    British Academy

2012    Leopoldina (German National Academy of Sciences)

2010    Austrian Academy of Sciences

2004   Academia Europaea

2001    Berlin and Brandenburg Academy of Sciences

1998    Insitute for Historical Anthropology (Freiburg)

1998    Arbeitskreis für Moderne Sozialgeschichte